The 10 films selected for the 10th anniversary edition of the Lux Film Prize were revealed at the Karlovy Vary International Film Festival on Sunday, 3 July. Michaela Šojdrová, Vice-Chair of the Committee on Culture and Education, Martina Dlabajová, Vice-Chair of the Committee on Budgetary Control, Julie Ward and Bogdan Wenta, Members of the Committee on Culture and Education and Doris Pack, LUX Film Prize Coordinator presented the list of films in competition this year.

The films are, in alphabetical order:

  • A peine j’ouvre les yeux (As I open my eyes) by Leyla Bouzid – France, Tunisia, Belgium, United Arab Emirates
  • A Syrian Love Story by Sean McAllister– United Kingdom
  • Cartas da guerra (Letters from war) by Ivo M Ferreira – Portugal
  • Krigen (A War) by Tobias Lindholm– Denmark
  • L’avenir (Things to come) by Mia Hansen-Løve– France, Germany
  • La pazza gioia (Like crazy) by Paolo Virzi– Italy, France
  • Ma vie de courgette (My life as a courgette) by Claude Barras– Switzerland, France
  • Sieranevada by Cristi Puiu– Romania, France
  • Suntan by Argyris Papadimitropoulos– Greece, Germany
  • Toni Erdmann by Maren Ade– Germany, Austria, Romania

Three of the ten films will be selected for the final competition and will be screened and promoted during the Lux Film Days in all 28 EU Member States from October to December 2016. This year, for the first time, the European Parliament and Creative Europe Media Desks are together organising the screenings in the Member States.

MUSTANG wins the Audience Mention 2015

The “Audience Mention” was created in 2015 and it allows the public to vote for one of the three Lux Film Prize finalists. Roumiana Vasileva Zlateva, selected at random from among the voters, announced the winner of the first edition: Mustang, by Deniz gamze Ergüven, on Sunday in Karlovy Vary.